Encouragement

I hung up the phone feeling helpless and angry. My friend, through many tears, explained that she felt worthless because her committee had kicked her out of the PhD program. I know that I have to give her some time to just be angry and hurt, but I was very concerned when I heard this. NO ONE should be able to kick her out of her sense of self-worth. I immediately scheduled a coffee date for today, and then I got to scrapping and came up with the card below. I’m really really pleased with it and I dare say I think the inspiration helped! It took me longer to select the right quote than it did for me to figure out the layout.

The quote reads: “What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”

As usual, my photograph does not do it justice, but you get the idea. And that right edge really is straight–that’s some digital distortion.

MATERIALS: patterned paper and silver paper from Paper Source Thank You Card Kit, “natural” card stock (Paper Source) and a vellum with rose petals and grasses( unfortunately I can’t credit the source).

I hope she’ll put it up somewhere she can see it and remind herself.

0 Responses to “Encouragement”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,526 hits

Blog Posts

May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

