June is birthday month

I definitely get along well with Geminis, it seems. I have at least 10 friends whose birthdays are in June, and four of them fall within the same week. So, my primary focus this month has been cards! Today I made two. The first is for a dear friend from college who got me a card that I’ve never forgotten. It shows Winnie-the-Pooh (Classic Pooh) and Piglet walking hand in hand through the woods. Piglet says “Pooh?” and Pooh replies, “Yes, Piglet?” to which Piglet answers “Oh, nothing. I was just making sure of you.” I have kept that card and love its sentiment. So, I had these great Classic Pooh stickers from Michel & Co, and I thought I use one for her.

MATERIALS:

Background: SK Bright Meadow Woodcuts & Text Flat Paper (K & C Company #660779); Classic Pooh sticker (“Pooh with Balloons #96465) from Michel & Co; Matting: Bo-Bunny Press (Bo-Bunnys Back-to-Backs) #12SGV802 Summer Sage Vine; Letterpress tag from Paper Source; Trim: “Cupcake” frills from Doodlebug Design Inc (#1235)

The second card I made was much simpler, but reflects who it is for. A dear friend has her birthday in June and is retiring from conducting a church choir. While I’m not submitting it for the contest per se, I was definitely motivated to use the torn mulberry paper by Kim’s card/challenge. I have been wanting to experiment with torn paper for awhile now, so here was my chance. What I particularly like with this is how you can see the notes faintly behind the mulberry paper, particularly where the edges are torn.

MATERIALS: Creative Imaginations #11045 “Music” by Marah Johnson (used here as well); Letterpress tag from Paper Source; mulberry paper (brand unknown)

2 Responses to “June is birthday month”


  1. 1 Kim June 15, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Beautiful cards! I especially like the way you used the mulberry paper, and the way the pp underneath shows through! Thanks for taking my challenge!

  2. 2 bunnyb August 6, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Pretty cards! I love the Winnie the Pooh one! Super cute! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

