Thanksgiving in June!

While I know every day is a day for gratitude, today seemed to be my day! It started this morning when I found out I won the drawing for blog candy over at Art Girlz Scrapbook Nook! Being fairly new to the whole “blog candy” scene, I’m pretty thrilled something happened so soon and from a place I really respect!

Then, I received a brand new purse (a really, really, really NICE purse) from a friend with whom I wasn’t on speaking terms for a few years. We got back in touch almost two years ago and she said she wanted to send me something for the birthdays she missed and to celebrate the fact we’re friends again. WOW! Surprises like that are just AWESOME.

Finally (and this doesn’t really compare to the other two, but it fit in with the theme of the day), my order from Adagio Teas came in a day early and they included a free sample of “birthday tea” to advertise their custom tea blends. Yet another nice surprise (even if it is advertising!)

Anyway, it made for a wonderful Friday! THANK YOU!

Here’s what I’ve done recently–two MORE June Birthday cards!! The first is for my 10th grade biology teacher. I won’t tell you how long ago that was, but let’s just say I’ve kept in touch with him for over 15 years! I went with a nature theme and ran a little experiment called “hmm-can-one-heat-emboss-on-vellum?” The answer is yes, but with several caveats. It will curl the vellum slightly and if you don’t use a bright powder, it might not show up all that well. See the “Happy Birthday” on the card below. It isn’t terrible, but not ideal. I also embossed and hand cut three flowers (applied with dbl. sided foam tape) that were stamped on really nice fine laid paper from Colonial Williamsburg! I like how that paper handles ink, so I use it on special occasions. It also embosses well, and it allowed me to color the flowers in with markers without worrying about messing up the embossing (detail below).

Final Product:

MATERIALS: “Daisy Cap” stamp from Mostly Animals; “Happy Birthday” stamp from Posh Impressions by Dee Gruening for All Night Media; ivy stamp from Stampa Barbara (whose inventory was sold to Clearsnap, Inc.); JudiKins embossing powders (Red, Candy Violet), Stampa Barbara embossing powder (Tangerine) and Gold Embossing Tinsel from Personal Stamp Exchange; Monarch Butterfly photo sticker from StickyPix by Paperhouse #ST27ROL; vellum “Green Tea” (#WGP0217 by WorldWin)

And then today, a quick card for my sister-in-law. I wanted a metallic feel to it (not that I find anything particularly “metallic” about my SIL–she’s wonderful). I liked the effect the light inking had on the stamp–gave it a more weathered, vintage look:

MATERIALS: Eco-White card from Paper Source; Foam stamp from Plaid Enterprises; Copper pigment pad from Color Box; bling from Martha Stewart Crafts; paper for “Bonne fete” from s.e.i (pretty petals 7-8403, reverse side); silver crinkly paper (source unknown) and double sided foam tape from 3M.

0 Responses to “Thanksgiving in June!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,526 hits

Blog Posts

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

