Sunday Scrappin’ #35: Lyra goes political…

Well, this was definitely a week of paper-craft related ta-das (of course that meant it was a week of not much else, but we’ll consider it a vacation…).

First, I completed this thank you card for my shoe & purse-loving friend who sent me the nicest just-because gift. I actually got my inspiration from a Honda ad, of all things (those of you who read Real Simple will likely know the one I’m talking about).

OUTSIDE OF CARD:

INSIDE:

I also participated in the Creative Therapy Catalyst about my dream home.

Last, but not least, I did this past week’s Sunday Scrappin’ Challenge: something using red, white & blue, or patriotic. I actually thought about this one for awhile and completed it only yesterday. I have a lot of patriotic sentiment right now in that I care deeply about this country and I’m saddened by much of what is happening. So this particular project is an entreaty to those who seem to be unfamiliar with a certain document…

I also discovered that Sakura pigment Micron pens (which I love) do not handle erasures well. Ahem…

TO-DOs: I think next week will be slow on scrapping and heavy on work. I do have an anniversary card to make however. 🙂

MATERIALS for DREAM CLOSET: Paper from Paper Source scrap bag; brads & eyelets (MakingMemories); letters are Anna Griffin #AG604 stickers; shoe stickers from Punch Studio PS #533385; all other shoes cut out from Real Simple magazine; purses handcrafted from paper scraps.

MATERIALS for ReadIt2Day Constitution Postcard: Strathmore Imperial Watercolor postcard; ColorBox pigment brush pads (scarlet and midnight blue); Mat is “flower-burst silver on white” (which I think looks like fireworks!) from now defunct Santa Barbara Scrapbooks; stamped letters are Hero Arts printers type alphabet; gold ribbon; and the drawing was done with Sakura pigma micron archival ink.

9 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ #35: Lyra goes political…”


  1. 1 Forgetfulone July 6, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Nice work! I like how you list your materials. My SS is posted, too.

  2. 2 chrissym July 6, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I love the dream closet card and your Sunday Scrappin Challenge project is great also! You are very creative. Look forward to seeing more of your creations.

  3. 3 Melanie July 6, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Both projects are fantastic, thanks for including the original ReadIt2Day Constitution Postcard for this Aussie. Lol

    Have a good week.

  4. 4 Annapurna July 7, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Love your creations here. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. 5 Janine July 7, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Thanks for visiting my site!! You have alot of wonderful work on yours!!

  6. 6 Rosie July 8, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Great work! I like the Patriotic art very much! And thanks for the lovely comment on my blog… I’m so glad it helped!! ;-]

  7. 7 Amy July 9, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    That closet card is great! 🙂

  8. 8 Wani July 13, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I love the closet! Thats so cool!

  9. 9 bunnyb August 6, 2008 at 3:48 am

    That dream closet card is amazing! I think I should have one of those!!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,526 hits

Blog Posts

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

