Mmm…chipboard….

Do you remember that blog candy I received? Well, it included Maya Road’s Butterflies and Bugs chipboard collection. Prior to receiving that wonderful bit o’ blog candy, I had NO chipboard of any kind.

At any rate, I found myself needing to make a “man” card, as it were, but felt I could still remain elegant and not have to allude to golf, neckties, or cowboys (at least for this particular man). So, I grabbed a dragonfly body and a pair of wings from my new chipboard, and here’s what I made:

And I made this simple, minimalist card:

SPECIAL TECHNIQUES: I covered the dragonfly’s body with scrap paper from my stash (which I happen to know is #11117 “Melody” by Renae Lindgren for Creative Imaginations (in case you are interested). Using Itoya’s O’Glue (which I love), I emboiled it with Ranger clear embossing powder to give it shine and texture. What is “emboiled” you ask? My term for what happens when you get your embossing powder to boil. I used this technique here too. With the clear embossing powder, you get a neat effect–patches of bubbly white, basically.

TOOLS: This was my first go with a Coluzzle (Provo Craft) and Coluzzle knife. Hmm. Not as easy as it looks…especially with origami paper. Jury is still out. Silly husband suggested: “Find something that is shaped like a circle and the right size, and use that.” HAH! There is NO room for practicality in my creative space! NONE! (ok, so it probably would have looked better if I had done exactly that).

MATERIALS (not listed above): Maya Road chipboard; “Aurora Wave” origami paper (Yatsumoto)–gives lovely iridescence for the wings which you can’t really see in the photo; “Happy Birthday” acrylic stamp (Target); Gold Embossing Tinsel (Personal Stamp Exchange).

I hope you like it!

2 Responses to “Mmm…chipboard….”


  1. 1 bunnyb August 5, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Cute dragonfly card! I love it 🙂


  1. 1 Sunday Scrappin’ « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space Trackback on August 3, 2008 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,526 hits

Blog Posts

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

