Sunday Scrappin’ #39

I’m posting this before Amy has had a chance to put up her Sunday Scrappin’ post for this week, but I will Mr. Linkify over there when I get home tonight (I’ll be gone all day).

UPDATE: Here’s this week’s Sunday Scrappin’ challenge!

TA-DAs:

Considering how busy this week was with pseudo job interviews, visiting parents and in-laws (who are still here), I’d say I still managed to have some fun with some scrapping!

  • I made my first moo!
  • I made this birthday card–my first experience with chipboard!
  • And finally, I made a card for the Sunday Scrappin’ challenge:

play in the grass! Scrap photos of someone playing in the yard… use grassy paper… make a card involving something in your yard (a BBQ?)…. make a green fringed border that looks like grass… you get the idea. Have fun with it!

See below:

I used a stamp as a starting point for the inspiration, but as you can see, it doesn’t really look like that stamp in the actual card:

After stamping the image (“Garden Sunflower” #2483-F Posh Impressions/Rubber Stampede) in a very light ink, I embossed it with clear embossing powder. Truth be known, I could have skipped this step, but whatever. I wanted to use some of my scrap stash, so I paper pieced the leaves out of green magazine scraps and embossed them (Ranger Clear EP). The GRASS (see Sunday Scrappin’ Challenge) on the ground is also composed of pinked strips from my scrap stash. I covered the sunflower blossoms with two embellishments (“Floral Accents” Marcella by K). I’m not super happy with the Happy Birthday (#D07 from Stampendous embossed with “tangerine” EP (Stampa Barbara), but I think I suffered from a little bit of burnout. But, this is my offering for the challenge at Sunday Scrappin’ this week:

TO-DO’s for next week?

Not sure…but I’m sure I’ll manage at least ONE thing. The Sunday Scrappin’ challenge perhaps? Something food-related…hmm.

AND DON’T FORGET! When I get to 1000 hits, the person who has left the highest number of comments on my blog will win something! And I promise it won’t be my old “Peace in the USSR” stamp from the 1980s (although I’d gather that’s a collectable now). We have someone at the whopping number of FIVE comments, four of you are at 3-4 comments, and five of you have left at least 2 comments. So, as you can see the playing field is WIDE OPEN, LOL.

7 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ #39”


  1. 1 Amy August 3, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Love that flower card- very nice take on the grass challenge! 🙂

  2. 2 Melanie August 3, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Your card is gorgeous Lyra, I love how you used the stamp as inspiration.

    Love the dragonfly card too. Fantastic work.

  3. 3 baileysgranny August 4, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I really like your dragonfly card. I loved dragonflies. Have a great week!

  4. 4 Rebecca August 4, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Great work this week! I loved your dragonfly, I still haven’t tried embossing (or emboiling) but you make it look fun! I haven’t heard of a Moo before – what do you do with them? Are they embellishments on a scrapbook page or a finished piece on their own? I wanted to recommend a different circle cutter to you but for the life of me can’t remember what it’s called or find it on the internet, I remember you use glass under it & it’s a purple circle with lots of slots to put the blade in, I think you can make at least 50 different sized circles with it. Anyway, I hope you have a great week! Your flower card is great, definitely not like the stamp & I like how you did the grass challenge.

  5. 5 chrissym August 4, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I love your card! What a pretty stamp. You are very creative. Good luck with your goals and interviewing!

  6. 6 bunnyb August 5, 2008 at 11:44 am

    That flower card is sweet and lovely! I like it!

  7. 7 Forgetfulone August 10, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    How did I miss this last week? The card you did for the challenge turned out so beautiful! I’m really impressed. I don’t emboss, but maybe I need to learn, and I’ve just started stamping and still have quite a ways to go before I produce anything I consider worthy. But, I try!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,541 hits

Blog Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

