Goodbyes and Open Doors

Two recent projects.

First, is my postcard for this week’s challenge over at Sunday Postcard Art. The theme is “doors.”

This is an interactive postcard :-). Since once the door is opened it isn’t meant to be closed, I didn’t remove the ribbon completely in order to photograph the version with the door open. πŸ™‚ Sorry.

door postcard (closed)

door postcard (closed)

door postcard (open)

door postcard (open)

MATERIALS: scalloped cardstock (Target kit) on Strathmore watercolor postcard; 5th Avenue shimmer stickers (Making Memories); acrylic/clear stamps–Swirls V: I by Rhonna Farrer (Autumn Leaves); paper by Anna Griffin (AG933); flower cut from an old notecard I received (Pepperpot by Gift Wrap Co.); Ranger Clear E.P. on Black Pigment ink (ColorBox); metallic red curling ribbon; black eyelets (for latch).

Now, while I have been working mostly with scrapbooking and cardmaking, I do like to do other types of projects. I altered this plain wood picture frame for some friends who are moving away. The picture is a well-loved photo of the four of us together.

altered picture frame

altered picture frame

I painted it with DreamCoat acrylic paint, used an Amy Butler designer mat (K&Co) K, some ribbon from my stash, some wooden tulips I picked up years ago, and a Sharpie!

8 Responses to “Goodbyes and Open Doors”


  1. 1 Sandy August 11, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Wow wow wow this is fantastic.
    Wonderful door card.
    Love them.

  2. 2 Lay Hoon August 11, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    This is really a special postcard !!

  3. 3 Wendy August 13, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Beautiful door, and a wonderful message.

  4. 4 Carole August 13, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I really like your postcard. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for the nice comments you left at my blog.

    No, I’m not a musician (though dh is), but was a vocalist in high school/college. However, that said, my banner ended up with all those designs by chance.

  5. 6 Donna August 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Very clever πŸ™‚

  6. 7 Daphne August 16, 2008 at 4:58 am

    Great message! Love the scalloped border on the card:-)


  1. 1 Sunday Scrappin’ #41 « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space Trackback on August 17, 2008 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

