Cranes, Links & Cards, oh my!

CRANES

Cranes

Cranes

...and more cranes.

...and more cranes.

These 200 cranes are going to Judy Dunn, a Massachusetts artist who is the thought, skill, and talent behind The Crane Project. I’ve been hoarding these cranes for four years. They were made for my wedding by myself, my wedding party, and guests from all over the country. If you don’t know the Japanese tradition of 1000 cranes, you can read about it here. There were close to 1000, but at some point, I really had to trim down my origami crane collection. It was also a time of cleansing and reflection. At any rate, cranes represent peace (among other things) and my husband and I can’t think of a more meaningful home for our cranes than with Judy’s project. While my cranes are slightly different than her specifications, she felt she might be able to incorporate them into the project. In the meantime, if you have some waxed paper, time, and five minutes here and there, please consider folding some cranes for Judy. Help people understand the cost of war in a really visceral way. I’ve featured The Crane Project in my new FEATURED LINKS section in the sidebar.

And speaking of LINKS, I have a new page (see tab above) called “LINKS YOU MIGHT ENJOY.” I’ve cut back on the number of links in my sidebar to avoid clutter. My separate links page includes places in my feed reader, or blogs I occasionally visit. My sidebar includes websites and links of real-life artist/crafter friends, as well as “virtual” friends (those people who comment here on a regular basis or have linked to me). I’ve also included some online boutiques and places to purchase supplies, as well as challenge blogs I follow. I also have highlighted eco-crafting as that is an area I both support and endeavor to join. If you have shown me the love by linking to my blog and I have failed to recognize it by linking to you in the sidebar, please let me know!

Lastly, if you are sick of my prose, here are two CARDS I made today. I was feeling clean and minimalist. The second card meets the Sunday Scrappin’ challenge to try a new fold. 🙂 I’ll post about that on Sunday.

MATERIALS: stretchy plastic ribbon (Maya Road), Noah Rub-ons (Maya Road), Rhonna Farrer Swirls V:I clear stamps (Autumn Leaves); khaki card (Paper Source); black pigment ink (ColorBox); “Ancestry Floral 151239” dimensional stickers (Marcella by K).

MATERIALS: light apricot card stock, “Scrapbookers Sonata—black and silver” (Hambly); Noah rub-ons (Maya Road); “Ancestry Floral” dimensional sticker (Marcella by K)

2 Responses to “Cranes, Links & Cards, oh my!”


  1. 1 bunnyb August 14, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Great cards!! I love the first one most!

  2. 2 Judy August 17, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Thank you for featuring The Crane Project. I look forward to receiving your cranes. I truly appreciate that you thought of this project as a good way to utilize those cranes. This community aspect of the project is important. The energy of lots of people contributing to the project will make it more powerful and meaningful. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,502 hits

Blog Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

