Creative Therapy: Catalyst #22

Creative Therapy asks this week, What is your biggest accomplishment?

Hah! No small question, that. I had several options here, and I was reticent to go with this one as I was worried I might seem elitist or pretentious or something like that. But truly, this was ONE of my biggest accomplishments…not because of the piece of paper, but because of who I became over the 9 years I spent working toward it. It was a really rough road, both professionally and personally, but I also had many bright spots along the way. But mostly, in the end, it was something I set out to do, and while for a long time it seemed that grad school owned me, in the very end, I owned it. I took charge and finished…for me and no one else.

Labor of Love?  Dr. CraftyLyra

Labor of Love? Dr. CraftyLyra

I used a draft of my dissertation (printed on 100% cotton bond) for the distressed hearts, the question mark, and the chipboard letters in “labor” and “of.” I needed something rough and distressed represented in this layout. The journaling reads:

Above and beyond anything else, I earned a degree in self-awareness. It isn’t about academic prestige. It is about setting a goal and learning about yourself as you strive to achieve it.

MATERIALS: A la Carte “Bruschetta” paper (American Crafts); Amy Butler Designer Mats (K & Co); Tim Holtz Distress Ink “Scattered Straw” (Ranger); Chipboard letters (Maya Road); “Pistachio” and “Rosebud” pigments (ColorBox); Rainbow Sparkle Lite EP (JudiKins); Stick-IT felt letters (CPE ImageCo)

1 Response to “Creative Therapy: Catalyst #22”


  1. 1 susan2009 August 18, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Congratulations on achieving your goal of finishing grad school. That’s a huge accomplishment! It doesn’t mean you are elitist or pretentious. 🙂

    Nice layout too.


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

