From the Geek File…

Geeky Stamp Database

Geeky Stamp Database

Yeah, so I’m a nerd. Or a geek. Take your pick. I know there is a difference, but for our purposes, you get the general idea. I have limited storage space, so my stamp collection, which is fairly large, is not really organized in a way that I can see everything easily. So, I decided to make a little database for my stamps. They are organized by description, up to three categories (flowers, holiday, angels, text, etc.), manufacturer, and I’ve also recorded the year and where I bought them, as well as the Manufacturer ID numbers. I have a whole lot of old stamps that I bought in the early 90s. I even found the first stamp I ever bought. 🙂

So the cool thing about the Excel spreadsheet, is I can now simply do a “sort” whenever I’m looking for a specific type or brand of stamp (for a challenge, for example). Neat, eh? Probably not the BEST use of my time, but I did it during my break, so I can feel slightly guilt-free (never mind that the break lasted an hour and a half). I’m currently working from home. 🙂

2 Responses to “From the Geek File…”


  1. 1 bunny August 19, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Nothing wrong with being a geek! I love being organized too 🙂 Google docs is awesome!

  2. 2 Rosie August 20, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Now that would be an interesting db to create… good for you! Nowt wrong with geekdom – I hear it’s very cool! 😉


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

