I just had to make SOMETHING…

I was talking to my mother this weekend and I said, “My list of HAVE to-dos is the longest, next comes the SHOULD to-dos, and then finally the WANT to-dos.”  If I do them in order, I’ll get to the WANT to-dos on my deathbed.  The real problem is that it has been my priority system from day one.  But I’m at a place in my life where that priority system, should I accomplish it, may make me productive, but not terribly happy.

SO, forgetting for the moment that there are certain things that actually fall on all three of those lists, I decided that I would take an hour this evening and make a birthday card for a friend.  I got home from work, dragged all the materials out on the table, and this is what I made:

Unfortunately, the colors are not perfect in the photo, so you’ll just have to take my word for it that it looks really nice in reality.  It is a lavender and green color scheme.

MATERIALS & TECHNIQUES:  Paper is ALL from Martha Stewart (a pack of coordinating craft paper in green and taupe).  I sponged lavender pigment ink (ColorBox) on the textured taupe paper (bottom of card) in order to bring out the pattern.  The ribbon is from my stash, but I love it because it has that stitched look in the middle.  The stamp is one of my favorites, an oldie-but-a-goodie from All Night Media (“Tweetheart” 403F) that I cut out with a craft knife.  I embossed it with JudiKins “Candy Violet” EP.  The “Happy Birthday” (Stampendous, D07)) was embossed as well, but the poor stamp is so old it doesn’t really stamp very well, so I ended up going over it with a purple sharpie.

Although the Happy Birthday tag looks a little lumpy in the photo, I actually like the fact you can see the ribbon underneath it because the whole card actually looks more like fabric in real life.

4 Responses to “I just had to make SOMETHING…”


  1. 1 Melanie September 23, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    This card is fabulous Lyra, the ribbon underneath adds more texture and dimension.

    What I do is if I do one thing on my HAVE to-do list (e.g. DT layouts) I always allow one from my WANT to-do list (e.g. laoyut for me) and that makes the process so much easier, quicker and fairer. lol

  2. 2 Miss Sniz September 26, 2008 at 8:01 am

    I am SOOO with you, Lyra! It seems like I tend to do the “want-to-dos” more and more. And I am happier even though certain things (like cleaning my bathroom) don’t get done as often. I love the card and wish I could see it in person!

  3. 3 Forgetfulone September 28, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Wow! That card is extra pretty. You’re very creative and talented. I wish my cards looked half as good.


  1. 1 Sunday Scrappin’ #47 « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space Trackback on September 28, 2008 at 10:32 am

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

