Sometimes you have to face the hard stuff

As blogs go, this particular crafting blog is usually pretty fluffy. This is usually my respite from the reality and harshness of the world. But, at the end of the day, some things are too important, even if they are tough. The wonderful Cathy posted this on her blog, and I was moved to do so as well. I’d be willing to bet that 99% of the people who read this blog have known someone who has survived cancer or hasn’t. If you are lucky enough to be in the 1%, please understand that cancer is indeed an epidemic. Don’t let the survivors fight alone. They fight so hard for the ones who can’t, or the ones who lost the battle. Pick a charity (mine is St. Jude’s) and donate what you can. Please.

I post this in honor of: my mother (survivor), my father (survivor), both my grandfathers, my grandmother, two aunts (one survivor), my dear friend who would be 31 this November, a friend in junior high (survivor), two of my professors (both survivors), and many more. And that’s in 31 years of life.

3 Responses to “Sometimes you have to face the hard stuff”


  1. 1 Forgetfulone October 3, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Isn’t it fabulous how many people are surviving this illness when only a decade ago, the odds were stacked against you. It can only happen with some funding for research and treatment.

  2. 2 Melanie October 8, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Cancer research and funding is something that we can all do to help.
    I have a donation message on my blog right now for Breast Cancer Researxh too.


  1. 1 RAK for 2000 hits and Mystery Picture revealed! « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space Trackback on October 3, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,541 hits

Blog Posts

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

