Menu Plan Monday: My First!

I’m pretty excited to participate in Menu Plan Monday. Because we are trying to save money, I am cooking at home more…not such an easy endeavor when we both commute to other states (husband does it five times a week, I do it twice). I’ve got a choir rehearsal on Monday nights, and a night class on Thursday. I’m taking advantage of the fact I have this Tuesday off. 🙂 As the weather gets colder, I get more and more reliant upon my slow-cooker. That takes more planning when you have 6-8 hours of cooking time. This week is rather meat-heavy for us, so I’ll have to plan some vegetarian meals next week.

Sunday – Dh cooked (sweet!) a pasta with linguica; carrots

Monday – Leftovers OR Curried Shrimp in Coconut Milk; salad (SOURCE: The Cook’s Encyclopedia of Thirty Minute Cooking by Jenni Fleetwood). I couldn’t find yellow curry paste at the store and I don’t have time to make my own, so I am cheating with an equivalent store-bought simmer sauce.
Tuesday – Leftovers or Monday’s meal, depending on how Monday goes.
Wednesday – Hungarian Goulash (SOURCE:Fix-It-and Forget-It Cookbook: Feasting With Your Slow Cooker); egg noodles; cabbage. We’ll see how this goes…I’ve had goulash IN Hungary (many times), so I’ll be a tough critic, LOL.
Thursday – I have a late class, so husband and I eat on our own (he’ll probably eat leftover Goulash and I’ll catch a bite to eat downtown…most likely a salad here.
Friday – Go out to eat/take-out
Saturday – I have no idea yet (I plan on Saturdays).
2 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday: My First!”


  1. 1 Cynthia October 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love the Fix-It and Forget-It books – lots of great ideas in there.

  2. 2 Carole October 14, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I’ve planned a weekly menu for as long as I can remember. It makes shopping easier too.

    Although, being a seasonal cook I often visit local produce stands before planning during the summer months. Even with a menu, I don’t always follow it, making sure I have staples on hand, but it’s a good guideline and can save time and money.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,541 hits

Blog Posts

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

