Sunday Scrappin’ #50: Bonne Fete!

Join us over at Sunday Scrappin’!

TA-DAs

Well, given that official moving day is WEDNESDAY, the only papercrafting I did was “necessary.” My godson/nephew and MIL both have their birthdays on the same day. So, with some fun chipboard and some embossing powder, I whipped up these two. The first card also completes the Sunday Scrappin’ challenge: “FUZZY” (velvet ric-rac!) Next week’s challenge is: use up some of your ribbon stash. Make a border, make a bow… it’s up to you, but let’s see some ribbon on this week’s projects!

This first one is for the nephew. He’ll be TWO! I heat-embossed each piece of the ladybug by hand with striking pigment inks and clear e.p. I had red embossing powder, but I liked how the scarlet pigment turned out against the black, so I went with clear e.p.)

MATERIALS: ColorBox pigment inks (scarlet & black); “Butterflies and Bugs” chipboard kit (Maya Road); “Sentiments” sticker letters by Pamela Woods (Creative Imaginations); velvet ric-rac (stash); Designer Mat pad by Amy Butler (K & Co.); Clear embossing powder (Ranger)

This card is for the MIL. I was pretty stressed about this one. Like my nephew, French is her native language (although she speaks English too), so hence the “Bonne fete” instead of Happy Birthday! She is a trained artist, so I had to set my standards pretty high, LOL. I rarely do anything this modern, so I’m very happy with the results! She’s a wonderful person so I’m sure she’ll say she likes it too!

MATERIALS/TECHNIQUES: The “B” is from “Hello Sunshine Alphabutton Fashions” (Cosmo Cricket); the chipboard letters are Maya Road–heat embossed with scarlet and black pigment ink (ColorBox) and clear embossing powder (Ranger). The accent circonflexe is an upside down “v” sticker from “5th Avenue Shimmer Stickers” (Making Memories). The patterned papers are both Marah Johnson for Creative Imaginations.

TO-DOs?

‘Nuf said.

Have a great week everyone!

7 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ #50: Bonne Fete!”


  1. 1 laura October 26, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Love your cards. Very nice. Floor looks like lots of work! Good Luck!

  2. 2 chrissym October 26, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Fantastic cards. I especially love that ladybug. Very nice. Ewww it looks like you have a big to do project ahead of you this week. Best of the luck with the move. Have a great week!

  3. 3 Wani October 26, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Those are great cards! I love using foreign languages on cards and scrapbooking pages! FUN!

  4. 4 Miss Sniz October 26, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Wow, these cards are perfectly awesome. They look REALLY professional and expensive! Great job and good luck with the floor!

  5. 5 Forgetfulone October 26, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Absolutely beautiful cards! You’re definitely crafty. I wish I knew more about embossing. I kinda have enough on my plate right now, but wow, do you have a big project ahead! have a good week.

  6. 6 Melanie October 27, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I looove those cards, the ladybug is so cute.
    Im sure your loved ones will cherish both.

    WOW, looks like a lot of hard work ahead for you.
    Hope it all goes well.

  7. 7 Annapurna November 12, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Very nicely done on both of them. That looks like a big job. Hope you made some progress on it. BWO baby!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

