Sunday Scrappin-June 7, 2009

Once again, I’ve been forced to take a hiatus from Sunday Scrappin’.  But I return!  I’m awfully glad summer is here…I’ll be VERY busy this summer, but my time is more my own.  I spent this weekend organizing my craft space, and to celebrate–I did a layout for my “Childhood” album.

This is the other side of this layout.

CIMG8417

This LO posed several challenges.  I chose to use bright (but NOT TOO BRIGHT) colors because the photos are old (1979) and the colors are washed out.  My bedroom was actually creme and light blue, but there was no sense in tryng to bring that out in these photos.  They were taken by my late grandparents and I’m so grateful to have them even though the photos aren’t super.  Because I was working on the reverse side of another LO (that had embellishments and texture), the stamping did not come out very well.  I covered up the middle stamp with a ribbon and I just let the owl go—live and learn.  I’m happy, however, with the colored photo corners.  They really made the LO much prettier and helped disguise the fact that the photos aren’t great.  The photos were also cropped with rounded corners (which I didn’t like), so the photo corners helped with that.

PP: Martha Stewart; ALPHAS: Thickers (American Crafts); RIBBON: American Crafts and Martha Stewart Decorative Tape; STAMPS: owl (Inkadinkadoo) and border stamp (Anna Griffin); INKS: Lavender and Silver (ColorBox); EMBOSSING POWDER: Rainbow Sparkle Lite (JudiKins); PHOTO CORNERS (waste not paper).

I’m excited that Christine is going to be co-hosting Sunday Scrappin’.  Next week’s challenge is to take a look at her work for inspiration.  The inspiration will be easy–it is the execution that might be a problem, LOL!

4 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin-June 7, 2009”


  1. 1 Forgetfulone June 7, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Great job! Priceless photos. I haven’t attempted to scrap any of my old photos. I’m so far behind on my children’s photos, I probably won’t ever get to mine. No time for crafts this week, but now that school is out, I need to make time.

  2. 2 baileysgranny June 8, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I love that you are scrapping your older memories. I took all my old photos out of those awful magnetic albums and need to do something with them. You may inspire me to do some paper scrapping. Oh, but I need to get my craft space organized first! have a great week. Christine aka baileysgranny

  3. 3 Rebecca June 8, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Beautiful! I scrapped my childhood when I was fourteen, first photos I scrapped…I have A LOT of “live & learn” things on those pages.

  4. 4 Melanie June 9, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Scrapping these older photos can prove hard when they are under- or over-exposed but your laoyut is beautiful.

    I cheat and scan mine then print so I can touch them up.
    I love the layout that is on the backside of this layout too.

    I hope you have time to scrap this week Lyra and have a wonderful week ahead.


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,471 hits

Blog Posts

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

