Sunday Scrappin: June 21, 2009

sundayscrappinbutton

Well, it is Christine’s first Sunday at host over at Sunday Scrappin’! I hope you’ll come join us.  This week wasn’t QUITE as fulfilling craftwise as last, but I managed to get some stuff done!

TA-DAs:

Last week’s challenge was to use complementary colors (opposites on the color wheel) with your favorite color.  Well, my favorite color is green, and its complement is red.  I took a more liberal view and stayed within the color families, LOL (not in the mood to do Christmas layouts!!)  Here are the two LOs  of my rehearsal dinner:

CIMG8469_2

CIMG8513_2

As you can see, they fulfill the challenge!  The second one was created using the Non-Conformist collection from ScrapInStyleTV with some Marrakech papers (BasicGrey) thrown in for good measure!

I also tried a brand new technique–iris paper folding! I’m quite excited about this and used it for the frame of the picture on this LO:

CIMG8504_2

I wove the ribbon through the paper and interspersed it with some cute owl epoxy stickers (Paperchase).  The sentiment is from Anna Griffin Friendship rub-on kit.  The wooden tulips I picked up at Cost Plus World Market (I think!) and I placed them around a journaling tag from Maya Road.  I think the photograph is too dark for the paper I chose, but c’est la vie.

And finally I finished this mixed media card up this morning (which just coincidentally happens to meet last week’s challenge):

CIMG8519I was curious to see if some old fabric dye I had would work on paper. Well, it was so old it was gooey, so I smeared it with a tissue. It also was very sticky, so I coated the entire card with mod-podge to get rid of the tackiness (it worked!). The Mod-Podge allowed the orange ink from the fish to bleed a little and I liked the sort of batikish effect.

STAMPS: “Happy Birthday” (All Night Media) and “Gus” (Mostly Animals)
EMBOSSING POWDERS: clear (Ranger) and gold tinsel (Personal Stamp Exchange)
INKS: Versamark and Gold Pigment (Colorbox); fabric dye (Tulip Tye Dye); Marvy Orange Le Plume II (on fish)
OTHER: braided sequined thread, eyelets, Mod-Podge

I also made another birthday card that I can’t show you yet. 🙂

TO-DOs:

Next week’s challenge: Show off a card you made or a scrapbook page you completed featuring dear ole Dad or someone who is like a dad to you.

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!!

5 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin: June 21, 2009”


  1. 1 baileysgranny June 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I really like the iris paper folding. I don’t think I’ve ever done that and it turned out really nice. Great pages!

  2. 2 Forgetfulone June 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Beautiful layouts and cute card! You did a really great job with that new technique. Have a scrappy week!

  3. 3 Rebecca June 21, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    That paper folding frame looks great, I’ll have to check out the how to later in the week. Those maraca papers are cute too. Great work! Have a great week. =]

  4. 4 Miss Sniz June 21, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Great pages! You got a lot done this week. I don’t think the photo is too dark for the paper. Good luck this week.

  5. 5 Melanie June 21, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Wonderful creations Lyra, I don’t think the photo is too dark. It looks amazing.

    I love the card and the dimension on it.
    I hope you have a good week ahead.


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,501 hits

Blog Posts

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

