Sunday Scrappin’ 6/28/09

sundayscrappinbutton

TA-DAs

Well, this was another good crafty week for me (which means I didn’t get a lot of other important stuff done, but shhh….don’t tell).  Last week’s challenge was to do something in honor of dads, about dads, etc…and I managed to do a component of a LO here.  I tried the iris folding technique several weeks ago and loved it, but it does create lot of bulk behind the mat.  In an attempt to rectify that, I tried an iris effect without folding the strips (and using ONLY scraps).  It came out ok, but I had to add white gel pen because the scraps had such a busy pattern, the effect was obscured.  This will go on a LO about my family, since it is a picture of my dad and his mom, circa 1943 or 44.

iris effect

iris effect

My biggest accomplishment from last week is that I completed my first quilling project!!

And here are two ta-das from previous weeks that I couldn’t show because the recipients hadn’t received them yet!

CIMG8456CIMG8472CIMG8452You can find all the particulars on the cards in my gallery at scrapbook.com.  I did want to mention, however, that the last two cards use some great Anna Griffin border stamps that I got from Anita at Anita’s Arts.  Do check out her site!

Finally, I whipped this quick card together mostly as an excuse to use my new cherry blossom stamp from inkadinkadoo:

CIMG8534TO-DOs

Amy has challenged us with this for next week:

I’d love to see something that represents your summer. Not necessarily a layout of summer activities… though that would work… but maybe something inspired by the color of your neighborhood pool, or something that reminds you of your garden. Get creative with summer inspirations!

Maybe I’ll integrate it with my next quilling project!

7 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ 6/28/09”


  1. 1 baileysgranny June 28, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I love the iris effect! And your cards are awesome.

  2. 2 Rebecca June 28, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Those cards are gorgeous! I love the framing around the picture, and awesome that you have those kind of pictures. Have a great week!

  3. 3 Forgetfulone June 28, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Wow! Those cards are gorgeous! Love all your stuff!

  4. 4 Christine June 28, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    OH WOW! Your cards are beautiful! And Hahaha I have the same problem at my house, when I’ve been craftsy the house looks like a bomb went off!

    Thanks for the comment & compliment on my pics 🙂

  5. 5 Darlene June 30, 2009 at 8:31 am

    What a great postcard!!! I love the words too.

  6. 6 Melanie July 1, 2009 at 3:53 am

    The Iris folding looks amazing Lyra, it adds so much to the photo too. Beautiufl cards sweetie, Im sure the recipients loved them.

    Hope you have a good week ahead.


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,502 hits

Blog Posts

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

