Sunday Scrappin’ July 26, 2009

Please join us over at Sunday Scrappin’! All you have to do is post your papercrafting “ta-da”s and “to-do”s for the week and participate in the optional challenges!

I just got back from vacation so I don’t have much to show. I did make a card for my grandmother’s 80th birthday before I left and I don’t think I posted it, so here ya go:

CIMG8659

She likes country decor, so I kept that in mind when making this card.   I used this “Country Hearts” stamp kit (RubberStampede) that I don’t use very often due to the fact they are foam stamps and I don’t like foam stamps. 🙂 But the little squares make up a nice quilt look. I stamped on Martha Stewart PP instead of directly on the cardstock. One of the stamps had an extraneous ink mark, so that is how the photo corners came to be on the card, LOL. I actually like how it looks. I colored in the squares with colored pencils, and then added eyelets and ribbon (“pool” from Paper Source), and used some Martha Stewart jewel embellishments but stuck them to the ribbon so they’d look like charms (they don’t show that well in the photo, for some reason).

In addition, I am now a contributor at Going Green Greetings! Check it out for ideas on how to be a little more environmentally sound when it comes to papercrafting!

TO-DOs:

I’m getting caught up on work.  But I need to make a birthday card for my stepfather, so I’ll try to get that done this week.

5 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ July 26, 2009”


  1. 1 Melanie July 28, 2009 at 6:51 am

    This card is beautiful Lyra, th photo corners look amazing.
    Congratulation on the Going Green Greetings, that is wonderful news.

    I hope you have a good week ahead.

  2. 2 Wani July 28, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Great card!! So elegant!

  3. 3 JeanFB July 30, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    This is sooooo lovely!! My mom is a quilter, and she would LOVE to receive a card like this! You did an amazing job lining up those photo corners… I will have to try to CASE this, but I’m not thinking mine will turn out as beautifully as yours! 🙂

  4. 4 Forgetfulone July 31, 2009 at 1:09 am

    I love this card! You put a lot of work and thought into it.

  5. 5 Carole M. August 8, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    I’m sure you’re grandmother just loved this hand-crafted card and like you said it is reminiscent of a beautiful quilt too; well done!


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,526 hits

Blog Posts

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

