New Year Crafting Resolutions!

Ok, so it is no secret that I have all but disappeared off the crafting radar screen.  I hate that.  I love my job, but I don’t love that it does not afford me time to craft or cook. SO, for the New Year, I am going to try the following: for ever two hours (minimum) of work I do on the weekend, I can craft for an hour.  This doesn’t mean that if I do four hours of work I’ll automatically spend two hours crafting, but I have to do at least two hours of work to earn my hour of crafting time. I think 1-2 hours per weekend is all I can afford, but we’ll see.

For Christmas I received a Cuttlebug from a dear friend!  I was so excited.  And as you can see below, I’ve already put it to good use.  I wanted it mostly for dry embossing, but now I think I’m going to be very into die cuts too! I love it.  I only have the die cuts and embossing folders it came with and the Winter Bundle embossing pack, so I’m clearly going to have to expand my collection. 🙂

Anyway, here are four thank you cards–the fruit of Saturday’s labors.

light blue cardstock; “Winter Woods” embossing folder (Provo); Pearls by Mark Richards (Crystal Stickers); letterpress tag (Paper Source)

lavender cardstock; white cardstock; Wisteria Paper Collection (BasicGrey); “Celebration Stamps” Embossing/Die set (Provo Crafts); “Salutation Phrases” MiniMarks Rub-ons (American Crafts); Quickie Glue Pen; Baby Pink ultrafine glitter (Barbara Trombley)

TECHNIQUE:  here I filled in the indented part of the embossed heart stamp image with my glue pen and sprinkled it with ultra-fine glitter for a little extra bling

white cardstock; “Phoenix Dotted Swiss” cardstock (Bazzill); “Christmas Wreath” embossing folder (Provo Crafts); white gel pen (Sakura); Accessories Book 2 MiniMarks Rub-ons (American Crafts)

TECHNIQUE: I liked the embossed image on the textured paper.  I decided to bring it out by outlining particular parts of the wreath with a white gel pen.  If I had all the colors I want, I would have outlined the image using various colors…but I think the white and red keeps it simple.

“Chicken Pox” June Bug Collection PP (BasicGrey); stash items; Sticker (Target)

I’m not a “bright color” person, typically, but every once in awhile a project calls for it and then I’m left with scraps! So, in an effort to use up these scraps I made this card.  I’m actually quite pleased with it. I apologize for my finger in the shot, but I couldn’t get the colors/light right otherwise.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

2 Responses to “New Year Crafting Resolutions!”


  1. 1 Melanie January 10, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Happy New Year Lyra.

    I hope you can find more time for your craft Lyra, I want to as well. That is a goal of mine this year too, make time.

    Love these cards, I love my Cuttlebug and embossing folders.

  2. 2 Di January 10, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Nice job Cusine! I’m glad to see you making more time for yourself too! xo


Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,539 hits

Blog Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

