Coasters!

Ok, so here’s my latest project.  I should have enough done to make coordinated sets for everyone by the time next Christmas rolls around!  A couple of things I’m trying to figure out, however:

  • A way to make them less tacky when faced with a hot beverage container
  • avoiding “coaster stick” from condensation from a cold beverage.

There’s a Christmas themed one in this batch, as you can probably tell.  The basics are can lids, patterned paper, and fifty billion layers of Mod Podge.  All the paper you see here is from Paper Source.  The smaller coasters are perfect for wine glasses and the larger ones can be used for tumblers and other kinds of glasses.

cimg7819cimg78201

6 Responses to “Coasters!”


  1. 1 Shaz January 30, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Dude! I love these, what a great idea. Would love to know if you sort out the hot beverage issue. 🙂

  2. 2 Forgetfulone January 31, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Beatiful work! And what nice gifts you already have for next year. You are way ahead of me! I like this idea.

  3. 3 craftylyra January 31, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Yeah, I’m trying to figure out what I can use that is heat-resistant AND non-toxic…does such a thing exist? I doubt it. I’ll have to do some research on heat resistant materials. But in the meantime, I can say they are for cold or room temp beverages only.

  4. 4 Melanie February 1, 2009 at 5:20 am

    They look fantastic Lyra, the papers you used are gorgeous.
    I have no idea what would be heat resistent enough for these, sorry.

  5. 5 Chiska February 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I like those! What about using a plastic or glass insert? With a glass cutter, you could probably figure something out. I have faith in you. My answer to everything is to put plexi-glass on it, but that can be pretty costly. I just bought strawberries from costco and they came in a nasty non-recyclable package, but the plastic is sturdy and clear enough that it might work for your purpose.

  6. 6 Spotted Sparrow February 9, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Love the coasters! I apply a thin coat of varnish once the Modge Podge is dry, which helps seal them and eliminates the tackiness.


Leave a comment




Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,999 hits

Blog Posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031