Waste not, want not

After visiting a quilter who demonstrated how no scrap of fabric left her studio, I’m inspired to be the same way about my paper. So, that means coming up with a variety of different types of projects wherein I can use very tiny scraps of paper. (The quilter used her “useless” fabric scraps as stuffing for pillows). I’ve started to organize my paper by size. I figure I can use very tiny scraps in collages, most obviously. But I’m all ears if you have any other ideas!

5 Responses to “Waste not, want not”


  1. 1 Shaz May 22, 2008 at 12:12 am

    One thing you could try is piecing it all together to make a larger “sheet” from which you cut new pieces? I’ve been doing this with fabric and it’s a ton of fun.

  2. 2 craftylyra May 22, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Hmm…so like a random mosaic pattern on card stock or something like that? That’s an idea. What I have pictured there are just the larger pieces…I’m starting a bin of teeny pieces.

  3. 3 pennylrichardsca July 25, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Yeah, “serendipity” sheets are great ways to use scraps. Adhere them anywhich way on a fullsize piece of sturdy cardstock, stamp or draw or paint over them if you want, modpodge, let it dry completely, then cut them up into postcards, backgrounds, diecuts, whatever. You get to see every last sliver of your favorite papers that way, and in unexpected combinations that may spur new ideas. Look for the phrase “serendipity squares” on card-making galleries to see some beautiful examples. (I love the ones that use bits of security envelope insides, postage, etc., too.)


  1. 1 Organizing Scraps for Collage « Craftylyra’s Crafting Space Trackback on May 30, 2008 at 5:50 pm
  2. 2 Carnival of Green Crafts #1 : Crafting a Green World Trackback on July 24, 2008 at 9:11 pm

Leave a comment




Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,994 hits

Blog Posts

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031