Organizing Scraps for Collage

As I was debating what to do with tiny paper scraps that I didn’t want to waste, I came up with this idea. While I can lay larger pieces of paper in a file folder, it isn’t a practical solution for the tiny scraps. Well, with an eye toward collage, I’ve also started cutting larger pieces of solid colors (great colors in Real Simple magazine) and have decided to organize my tiny scraps by color. I took a file folder (re-used, of course) and have designated a regular envelope for basic colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple and also pink, pastels, metallics and black. In addition, I made envelopes for “words” (that I might cut out of magazines) and “pictures.” I fit two envelopes on each side of the file folder, making sure the bottom of the envelopes faces the fold of the folder (this is so you can store the folder upright without the scraps falling out). Each envelope is labeled with its color/contents–you can see examples below. You could use more aesthetically appealing file folders (or cover manila folders with fun paper), but I didn’t want to spend time on these instead of a layout or card!

Leave a comment




Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,994 hits

Blog Posts

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031