Sunday Scrappin’ #44: A FOP and two cards

Sunday Scrappin’ is a weekly paper-crafters’ meme where we list our TO-DOs, TA-DAs and participate in optional weekly challenges. Won’t you join us?

Well, this week was a tad more productive than prior weeks–pretty odd since I started teaching again. I’ve given up trying to decide my crafting cycles.

TA-DAs:

  • I did manage to do this past week’s challenge: use unopened embellishments from your stash. I spruced up the old stationery box and filled it with scrap paper and stationery for my teenage sister who lives far away (and who is just getting into scrapbooking). On the top of the box, I used three “icicles” from k-i memories, that I picked up at Target awhile back
scrapbox (top view)

Scrapbox, top view with icicles

scrapbox (side view)

Scrapbox, side view detail

MATERIALS: Paper (Target scraps package); Maya Road Tranquility Sunflower Slide; Dashes, Dots, & Checks Ribbon; Letters are from Anna Griffin Friends Rub on Kit; Ice Candy “Poolside” icicles (ki memories).

I sent it with this card:

MATERIALS: copper-colored glossy cardstock; “Heart of Love” stamp (Hero Arts); Tag (Target Scrapbooking); sentiment is from Anna Griffin Friends Rub-On kit; “Floral Accents” embellishments (Marcella by K); lavender pigment ink (ColorBox) and Old Rose Sparkle EP (JudiKins).

  • I also made a birthday card for a dear friend. It is a short fold, so the sheer ribbon on the bottom is actually on the inside of the card.

MATERIALS: “Noah” rub on letters (Maya Road); sheer “swirls” ribbon (Maya Rd); large letters are Anna Griffin “Friends” rub on kit; paper is from a faux vintage set–the flag bunting is cut out of one of the patterns; Swirls rub ons (Maya Road)

TO-DOs:

  • meet next week’s Sunday Scrappin’ challenge: use something from the kitchen. It could be tin foil as an embellishment… a food label to decorate a page… Kool Aid to make a scratch and sniff card… use your imagination!
  • one layout for wedding album

Thanks for reading! Hopefully neither the recipient of the box or the card read this blog this week!!

6 Responses to “Sunday Scrappin’ #44: A FOP and two cards”


  1. 1 krista September 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    love love love that box!!! she will love it! fantastic colors and i love the flower ribbon buckle…i love using those!!!! great job!

  2. 2 chrissym September 7, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I love that box!! Very pretty your sister is going to love it!! Love the card you sent also. The birthday card is pretty I like the ribbon you used. You had a very crafty week. Can’t wait to see what you create this week!

  3. 3 Forgetfulone September 7, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    The box is absolutely beautiful! I love all of your work. I didn’t get to scrap this week, but I love to visit everyone anyway. Have fun reaching your weekly goals.

  4. 4 Annapurna September 8, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I love the projects here. Especially the box you made. The punched flower card is awesome with its layout and colors. You have a good eye for color combinations.

  5. 5 Wani September 8, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I recognize some of that paper – do your shop in the Target Dollar Spot?!? Love it!

  6. 6 Melanie September 8, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    The scrap box looks wonderful Lyra and your sister will love it.
    I love both cards too, fantastic work Lyra.

    Have a good week.


Leave a comment




Favorite me on Technorati!

Add to Technorati Favorites

e-mail me

craftlyra at gmail dot com (no "y" after craft!)

Blog Stats

  • 27,999 hits

Blog Posts

September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930